What’s A Love Language?

by | Oct 20, 2014 | 31 Days Loving God Loving Others

It was February, 2000.

My husband and I were at a weekend conference, and I heard a term that was foreign to me.

Love LanguageLove Language.

Over the course of that weekend, we learned there are five of them. Applying what we learned about these Love Languages ended up saving our marriage.

You see, we attended this conference as somewhat of a “last resort” for our suffering marriage. Thankfully, we walked away from that conference a different couple.

But before you think this post doesn’t apply to you and you click to stop reading, please allow me to mention, these Love Languages apply to every relationship we are blessed to have.

To the relationships we have… 

With our kids.

With our co-workers.

With our parents.

With our friends.

With our spouses.

With everyone.

What Dr. Gary Chapman taught us that weekend can be found in his book, The 5 Love Languages. He’s also written books applicable to children, teens, singles, the workplace, and more. (The 5 Love Languages of Apology completely changed the way I look at apologizing!)

We each have a Love Language. We each have a specific way or two in which we feel loved, and we most naturally show love out of those same ways. We naturally speak our own Love Language.

However, the people in our lives might not speak the same Love Language we do. Oftentimes this is why there’s a disconnect between couples and people in relationships.

When two people try to communicate speaking two different languages, it makes it hard to understand each other. The same goes with Love Languages.

Imagine how this can affect our children. We may think we are showing them love, but unless we are speaking their Love Language, they might never feel it.

The 5 Love Languages Are:


Words of Affirmation

Acts of Service

Receiving Gifts

Quality Time

Physical Touch

What I find interesting is that Bill and I are complete opposites. His Love Language is not mine. (No wonder our marriage was suffering so!) Also, our kids have different ones as well.

Do you know what your Love Language is? What about those of your loved ones? Want to find out?

Visit www.5lovelanguages.com. You’ll be able to take a 10-15 minute quiz, and what you learn about yourself and others will change the way you relate to them. 

Something so simple can make such a big difference in loving others!

Love is worth the effort

Love is worth the effort.



We’re on Day 20 of 31 Days Of Loving God & Loving Others. You bless me by being here!
31 Days Loving God Loving Others



Previous Post
Next Post

Related posts

Thanks for stopping by.

I’d love to hear from you!


  1. Anita Ojeda

    I love this! I’ve read the books, and I’ve taken the free quiz on the website. It’s such great information for helping you understand other people. I think he needs to have a ‘love languages for church members’ edition ;).

    • Julie Lefebure

      Ooh, great book idea, Anita! I love it. This information truly does help one understand others. Thank you for stopping by today. Always a joy to have you here!



  1. A Help For Loving Others - Julie Lefebure - […] Yesterday we talked about The 5 Love Languages. […]
  2. 31 Days of Loving God & Loving Others - Julie Lefebure - […] Day 20: What’s A Love Language? […]
  3. 17 Ways To Bless & Show Love To Your Children - […]    Find out each one’s Love Language and do something special in that […]

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Just for you!

Real encouragement, updates, and free resources from me. 

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This