A Help For Loving Others

by | Oct 21, 2014 | 31 Days Loving God Loving Others

Yesterday we talked about The 5 Love Languages.

What’s yours?

If you haven’t taken a few moments to figure yours out, click on this link to do so.

It can make all the difference in loving others.

This information saved our marriage, and impacts every relationship we each have.

Sometimes loving others doesn’t come naturally.

Sometimes loving others doesn't come naturallySometimes we could use a little help.

Help for loving others… and this is one such help!

Below are the highlights of each Love Language…


Words of Affirmation

People who have this Love Language desire words to feel appreciated and loved. They will naturally speak in ways to you in same manner… Does this person build you up with his/her words? Does he/she compliment you often? Does this person send notes and cards to you? Does he/she speak kindly whenever possible to you? If so, his/her love language might be Words of Affirmation.

To this person, give compliments. Speak kindly. Encourage whenever possible. Build him/her up with your words. Send notes and cards. Avoid criticism.


Quality Time

Those who have this Love Language enjoy spending time with those they love. Talking, sharing, communicating with undivided attention. Togetherness is a priority. They aren’t in a hurry to leave your presence, and don’t handle long periods of separation very well.

Spend one-on-one time, with face-to-face conversations, without interrupting or interruptions, with a Quality Time person. Take long walks together, do things together, take trips. Avoid long periods of being apart, and spending more time with others than with this person.


Receiving Gifts
There’s someone in your life who is a Gift person. He/she showers you with gifts. Purchased or homemade. A gift-giving occasion is never missed. Gifts are important, and if you miss his/her birthday, you remember how crushed he/she was. This one is one of the easiest Languages to figure out. Give someone a gift, and watch the reaction. If there isn’t much of one, he’s probably not a Gift person.

Communicate positively and share fact-oriented information with a Gift person. Give gifts on special occasions and not-so-special occasions. Avoid forgetting special days.


Acts of Service

Some people feel loved by what you do for them. Washing dishes, the car, mowing the lawn, making a nice meal, etc. They consistently volunteer to do something for you. They want to help you. My mom’s Love Language was Acts of Service. She was consistently doing things to bless me, especially my ironing.

When communicating with an Acts of Service person, use actions words like “I can,” “I will,” “What else can I do?” Help with house and yard chores, repair/maintenance and acts of kindness. Avoid ignoring this person’s request for help.


Physical Touch

Touch is a powerful communicator, and those who have this Language need touch to feel loved. Holding hands, embraces, physical contact are all forms. Both of our children are Physical Touch people. They lean into me often, and still welcomes my hugs. They like to receive back rubs, and they still like to wrestle in the house.

Communicating with a lot of non-verbals, and verbals need to be word pictures for a Physical Touch person. Add touches, hugs, pats, kisses. Avoid physical neglect or abuse.


Again, be sure to visit www.5lovelanguages.com for additional information.

If you know your Love Language, would you share it below?? I’d love to know yours. Mine is Quality Time,  and I have two secondary Languages: Receiving Gifts and Acts of Service.



It’s Day 21 of 31 Days Of Loving God & Loving Others. This information is too important not to touch on when talking about loving others. I hope you find it helpful too!
31 Days Loving God Loving Others

Previous Post
Next Post

Related posts

Thanks for stopping by.

I’d love to hear from you!


  1. Kim

    This was interesting. My husband and I took the test yesterday. My love language is Acts of Service. And like you, I also have 2 secondary languages: Words of Affirmation and Quality Time. My husbands was very strongly Physical Touch with Quality Time as his 2nd but receiving half the score of Physical Touch! But we were is complete agreement with the low score of 1 for Gifts. 🙂

    • Julie Lefebure

      Kim, I’m so glad you and your husband took the test! You made my day by sharing that here. Seriously! This information completely changed the way my husband and I “loved” each other, and it truly transformed our marriage. My husband and I are complete opposites, so speaking each other’s language is an act of love in itself, as it doesn’t come easy to us. I’ll be praying for you and your husband and how God might use this to bless your marriage. Hugs to you, friend!



  1. 31 Days of Loving God & Loving Others - Julie Lefebure - […] Day 21: A Help For Loving Others […]

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Just for you!

Real encouragement, updates, and free resources from me. 

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This